Hattie Big Sky

This book has been on my To-Read list for a few years.  My class was fortunate to Skype with an author who recommended this novel to my 5th graders.  It reminds me a little of Little House on the Prairie in the sense that it takes place in the early 1900s when a young Hattie moves across the country by herself to settle a homestead in Montana.  Being only 16, she has quite a lot to learn in order to prove herself.

I adored reading about her growth – the ways she learned to use what she had, manage her resources, and depend on new friends who would become more like family.  Her fierce independence made me admire her, but her quiet uncertainty made her relatable.

The conflicts just kept coming – both internal and external, which kept me guessing.  It was an easy read that kept me turning pages to see how Hattie would handle her next challenge.  There is a sequel to this novel called Hattie Ever After which has been added to my To-Read list because I just need to know what happens to my sweet Hattie.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *